This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Unit 2

 

  1. I believe that it is human nature to always wonder what else could be out there. It seems to come naturally to us to look at a forest or the sky or even the future and have out imaginations run wild with possibilities. This human characteristic is also where many common ideas, beliefs and technologies have arisen from. I think a strong argument can be made for the understanding that without our imaginations, human progression would at the very least be hindered if not terminated completely.

  2. I do not believe that the public “is not very smart.” When we look at the history of mankind, we have come a long way. There is always going to be a spectrum of intelligence in human kind, however, the spectrum has definitely shifted up over the years as education becomes more common place and our collective pool of knowledge grows. We as a species can only advance so quickly and we are already surpassing the natural norm for advancement and growth. Furthermore, having a healthy imagination is not a sign of a lack of intelligence. Both intelligent and unintelligent people can and do poses this characteristic. In addition, it is my belief that having a strong since of imagination and wonder as well as having the ability to recognize that there are still unknowns in this world demonstrates intelligence even if the person is later proven wrong.

  3. I believe that NOT spending time thinking about space aliens is unscientific. The universe is unimaginably large, I believe that it is statistically more likely for there to be planets that can, and do, support life than for there to not be. In my opinion, it is arrogant and closed minded of us to not entertain the possibility of “space aliens.” Although their existence may not have any practical value to us at this time, understanding how we relate to space and nature is a step closer to understanding who we are and in my opinion, that has extreme value. Furthermore, the humbling notion that we are not alone and may not even be superior to all other life forms in the universe helps people to reevaluate their current life paths, strive harder for progression, and reconsider how they treat themselves, others, and the world they live on.

  4. I think it is easy for people to assume and accept that we fully know our Earth, that we are superior to all other living things, that we know what is best at all times, and that there is nothing left to discover on this planet. Playing pretend in movies, tv shows, and books is one thing, but to believe it is taboo. People can quickly forget the past, loosing touch with how recently and often new discoveries are made. I also think that maybe the internet plays a role in this. We have so much information at out fingertips, I believe it makes it easier to think we have all the answers. However, the internet has only been around for such a short time, it will take time for our relationship with the it to mature. I believe that soon it will have the opposite effect as more people start posting odd things they find. For example, I recently saw this video http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=193_1379475235 and although the suspected answer was soon posted in the comments http://deepseanews.com/2012/05/solving-the-mystery-of-the-placental-jellyfish/ it demonstrates both how there are still mysteries in this world as well as how the internet is bringing those mysteries to light.

  5. Yes, I believe that fantasy is an important part of human nature and will only grow in intensity as life’s necessities are easier met and people have more time to think about “trivial” things. I also believe that as our passion for fantasy grows, it will have a positive effect on how regularly we use our imagination and will thus aid in our progression and growth.

Comments on: "Unit 2" (4)

  1. I agree with your belief that people are not unintelligent, and with greater access to higher education that the level of intelligence of the general public will grow as technology advances. The vivid and expansive human imagination allows us to imagine and eventually create the unimaginable. However I think that our imagination is susceptible to the influences of science fiction and a lot of science fiction comes in the form of horror or thriller type books and movies. In your response to the 3rd question you state that the thought of life beyond our planet is humbling and invokes evaluation of current lifestyles, and how we may treat others. In my opinion, I would say that due to the influence of the media thinking about life on other planets would strike fear in the heart of the general public.

  2. You say that you “believe that it is statistically more likely for there to be planets that can, and do, support life than for there to not be”, if there were or are other life forms out there on many other planets that can support life whether superior or inferior to the human race do you not think that the superior ones would have tried to make some kind of contact with us or something like that? I personally believe that there is nothing else out there besides other galaxies which contain other planets and such. I have heard of a galaxy many millions of light years away that could have a possible heat source such as our sun with planets approximately far enough away that could support life, such as the earth. Although I think it would be really cool for that to be another earth out there with other life on it, I choose to believe that we are the only life until someone proves me wrong or until I die and God proves me wrong. I respect and see where you are coming from in your argument though, I hope you prove me wrong someday!

  3. You raise some points that trigger my argumentive side. I am definitely pro-imagination, don’t get me wrong, but I wonder where the line must be drawn at how much we attribute our achievements in society to it. Specifically, you spoke of how a lack of imagination can hinder or terminate human progression. What if a society could improve without an imagination? I may be cheating a little bit but to answer that question I look at ants or bees. I cant prove either way if they have imaginative brains or not. I just try to recall all the works of art created by one of these entomologic species. That being said, for the sake of argument, what a society they have developed. In my opinion their society is very orderly, unimaginative, but orderly. Not in jeopardy of being terminated though. I do give you the high ground in this matter due to my examples not being human.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

